THE OUTREACH SCHOLARSHIP/W.K. KELLOGG FOUNDATION ENGAGEMENT AWARDS AND THE C. PETER MAGRATH UNIVERSITY/ COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AWARD 2009

The programs of the four 2009 Outreach Scholarship/W.K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Award winners. 2009 marked the third year of the Outreach Scholarship/W.K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Awards and the C. Peter Magrath University/Community Engagement Award, which recognize four-year universities that focus learning, discovery, and engagement functions on signature community-engagement endeavors. The awards are supported by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and administered by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU), a non-profit association for members of public research universities, land-grant universities, and state university systems.

The awards program actually comprises two separate awards: the Outreach Scholarship/W.K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Awards, and the C. Peter Magrath University/Community Engagement Award.

In 2009, the Outreach Scholarship/W.K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Awards recognized university-community engagement in the South, North East, North Central, and West geographic regions. The award winners received a certificate and \$6,000, and made presentations about their signature outreach and engagement programs at the National Outreach Scholarship Conference (held September 28-30, 2009 on the University of Georgia campus in Athens, Georgia), an annual conference dedicated to presentations related to building strong university-community partnerships that are undergirded by rigorous scholarship, and which are designed to help address the complex needs of communities.

A panel of experienced outreach and engagement leaders judged the presentations. One regional award winner was selected to receive the C. Peter Magrath University/Community Engagement Award (named for C. Peter Magrath, APLU president from 1992 to 2005), which was presented at APLU's annual meeting in November. The 2009 award was presented to Arizona State University's American Dream Academy program, and included a

trophy and \$20,000 to be directed toward sustaining the award-winning program, or to support other engagement projects.

The awards program is shepherded by Dr. Mortimer "Mort" Neufville, who served as an APLU executive vice president from 2000 to 2008, and who continues to manage the awards program with great care and enthusiasm.

One of the requirements of the awards program is the expectation that each award winner will publish an article describing the impact of the award-winning endeavor in the special issue of the *Journal of Higher Education Outreach and Engagement*, dedicated to the themes of that year's National Outreach Scholarship Conference.

The 2009 Outreach Scholarship/W.K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Award winners are

- Michigan State University's Adolescent Diversion Project, which was created as an alternative to court-processing for young offenders in Ingham County, Michigan to address the pressing social issue of juvenile delinquency. (North Central Region)
- Pennsylvania State University's Northern Appalachia Cancer Network, which has evolved into one of the longest-running and most successful networks of community cancer coalitions in the United States. (Northeastern Region)
- The University of Georgia's *Archway Partnership*, which was established to strengthen the university's ability to fulfill its land-grant and sea-grant missions by partnering with communities in a grassroots approach to meet locally identified community and economic development needs. (Southern Region)
- Arizona State University's American Dream Academy, which is a ten-week school-based program to encourage parents to acquire skills to be the primary motivating forces in their children's education. (Western Region, and C. Peter Magrath University/Community Engagement Award winner)