THE OUTREACH SCHOLARSHIP/W.K. KELLOGG FOUNDATION ENGAGEMENT AWARDS AND THE C. PETER MAGRATH UNIVERSITY/ COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AWARD 2010

In the pages that follow, you will find articles chronicling the programs of the five 2010 Outreach Scholarship/W. K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Award winners. 2010 marked the fourth year of the Outreach Scholarship/W. K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Awards and the C. Peter Magrath University/Community Engagement Award, which recognize four-year universities that focus learning, discovery, and engagement functions on signature community-engagement endeavors. The awards are supported by the W. K. Kellogg Foundation and administered by the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU), a non-profit association for members of public research universities, land-grant universities, and state university systems. The awards program actually comprises two separate awards: the Outreach Scholarship/W. K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Awards, and the C. Peter Magrath University/Community Engagement Award.

In 2010, the Outreach Scholarship/W.K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Awards recognized university-community engagement in the South, North East, North Central, West, and Historically Black Colleges and Universities divisions. The award winners each received a certificate and \$6,000, and made presentations about their signature outreach and engagement programs at the National Outreach Scholarship Conference (hosted by North Carolina State University on October 4-6, 2010 in Raleigh), an annual conference dedicated to presentations related to building strong university-community partnerships that are undergirded by rigorous scholarship, and which are designed to help address the complex needs of communities.

A panel of experienced outreach and engagement leaders judged the presentations. One divisional award winner was selected to receive the C. Peter Magrath University/Community Engagement Award (named for C. Peter Magrath, APLU president from 1992 to 2005), which was presented at APLU's annual meeting in November. The 2010 award was presented to North Carolina State University's Riverworks at Sturgeon City program, and included a trophy and \$20,000.

The awards program is shepherded by Mortimer "Mort" Neufville, who served as an APLU executive vice president from 2000 to 2008, and who led the 2010 awards process. Neufville currently serves as Interim President of the University of Maryland Eastern Shore.

One of the requirements of the awards program is the expectation that each award winner will publish an article describing the impact of the award-winning endeavor in the thematic issue of the *Journal of Higher Education Outreach and Engagement*, dedicated to that year's National Outreach Scholarship Conference.

The 2010 Outreach Scholarship/W. K. Kellogg Foundation Engagement Award winners are

- Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis's *George Washington Community High School*, which is revitalizing the West Washington Street Corridor in Indianapolis, Indiana. (North Central Region);
- Lincoln University's Men on Business-A College Assurance Program, which focused on the development of young boys into men through encouragement to strive for success and to attend college. (History Black Colleges and Universities);
- University of Idaho's Better Together: The University of Idaho and Coeur d'Alene Reservation Communities, an approach which works to reduce poverty in reservation communities through the development of affordable housing and educational facilities. (Western Region);
- West Virginia University's Health Sciences and Technology Academy, which provides science-based programs for youth and teachers. (Northeastern Region); and
- North Carolina State University's *Riverworks at Sturgeon City*, which is revitalizing the Wilson Bay area of Jacksonville, North Carolina as a functional greenspace. (Southern Region, and 2010 C. Peter Magrath University/Community Engagement Award winner).